Classic Client

Installation

There is both a Windows and Mac OS version of the Client installer on our downloads page. After downloading, double-clicking the installer will install the WhosOn Client. You can install the Client onto as many machines as necessary.

Logging in

The login screen will appear when opening the Client. Every user will have their own username and password, as given out by an Administrator. All details other than the password are remembered.

On your first login, you will also be asked to enter the WhosOn server and the Authentication string. These will be provided by an Administrator. Your name is what will appear when chatting with a visitor, and your department is the department that will appear in the transfer list for other Agents to see.

Setting your status & personal options

Your status determines whether or not you are available to chat. You will only see notifications for new chats when your status is set to Online. Your status is visible to other Agents.

The Options tab allows you to toggle certain options on and off. These are personal options and do not affect other Agents.

Chat window & chat options

The chat window is what you will see when chatting with a website visitor. You will see messages sent by both you and the visitor, as well as a preview of what the visitor is currently typing.

A summary of the visitor’s information is shown on the right-hand side. The tabs here can be clicked to show different information, such as previous chats with that visitor.

Canned responses

The Canned Responses window can be opened at any time from the toolbar. Any words that WhosOn recognises as a keyword in the conversation will appear in this window. Clicking one of these words will bring up suggested Canned Responses based on the keywords. You can also manually browse the canned responses, or enter your own keywords to search for.

Transferring a chat

Clicking Transfer will bring up a list of logged in Agents and departments, with a colour-coded status. Transferring to an Agent will open a chat window to that agent. They will be able to see anything said in the chat so far, and accept or reject the transfer.

When another agent is selected for a transfer, you will be connected directly to that agent and have a separate conversation where you can discuss the chat to be transferred. At this point, the receiving agent will be able to review the chat so far and have options to accept or reject the transfer.

Sending & receiving files

Visitors can only send a file when you request one using the Request File option. The sent file will appear as a link inside the chat.

Monitoring chats

Monitoring a chat can be done by right-clicking the chat from the Chatting Visitors panel.

Taking over chats

The Aquire Chat options can be used at any time. This is the same as transferring the chat to yourself, so it can be used to effectively take over a chat from an agent.

Whispering & contributing

Whisper Mode means that any messages you send will only be visible to the agent in the chat. Toggling whisper mode off means that messages you send while monitoring will be visible to the agent and the visitor.

Active visitors and invites

Active website visitors are shown on the Home screen. Any of these visitors can be invited to chat by right-clicking and using the Send Invite option. This sends an invite graphic that the visitor can click on to chat.